Samsam Gullas Cup is back now on its 3rd Season. Today’s season it will open on January 5 here in our municipality gym around 3 o’clock in the afternoon. Our very own San Fernando Spartans are set to defend this year crown against five other teams from First District of Cebu namely: Talisay City, Minglanilla, City of Naga, Carcar City and Sibonga.

According to Deejay Villanueva, program director of Gullas Cup Season 3 that this year tournament will have a tagline “The Legacy Continues” since this will seek to commemorate the utmost dedication of the league’s founder and current Talisay City Mayor, Eduardo Gullas who started the tournament way back in 1972 until it was stopped in 2012.

On its first game, Talisay City will take on Carcar City after the match between the City of Naga and Sibonga. For the main game, our very own San Fernando Spartans will face Minglanilla.

Teams will follow single round-robin format, with the top four teams advancing to knockout semifinals. The finals would be a best-of-three battle with the champion to get a whopping P80,000.